There is a saying – “Records are made to be broken”. In the game of cricket as well is no different. This shortest format of the game brought forth a unique display of cricket for all its fanatics and that display within the span of ten years have taken a giant shape with the help of some gigantic feats achieved by the players itself. It doesn’t only provide entertainment but also quality cricket. The IPL has witnessed almost everything in its ten-year history- heavy bats, LED stumps, Bollywood glamour, packed stadiums, colorful fans and what not!

A combination of all these, along with the cricket on display, has led this tournament to reach its new heights. Along the way, this tournament has created some records that are unique and interesting in their own way. Let’s have a look at the top 5 stunning records made by the players and see who are the probable players to break those records;

5. Chris Gayle, the undisputed king of maximums;

Image result for chris gayle ipl
NDTV Sports

This flamboyant Jamaican, Chris Gayle simply doesn’t have any match in the world of cricket. When it comes to the shortest format of the game, he has always emerged as the undisputed entity of this game. He never fails to provide electrifying starts for his franchise. Most of the time, the ball was spotted on the roof of the Chinnaswamy Stadium!

He can conquer any sort of opposition. With the demeanor of his power hitting batting style, this format of cricket simply takes a bow in front of him. In the decade-long history of the IPL, no one has hit as many sixes as Chris Gayle. In 101 matches, he has as many as 265 sixes, most of which have come at his favorite hunting ground, the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

When it comes to hitting these massive sixes, there is no competition for this hard-hitting West Indian. Even Mr. IPL, Suresh Raina, is at a distant second in the list, with just 173 sixes. Gayle will continue to be the ‘sixer king’ of the IPL for a long, long time. So if anyone can break this record and make a bigger one it is only the Gayle himself.

4. Amit Mishra- The Hat-trick machine;

Image result for amit mishra ipl

It is always a dream for millions of players to get a hattrick in their bowling stint once in their lifetime but very few get to experience the joy of getting a hattrick in the T20 game of cricket that too in the international platform. Among the few, there is only one man called Amit Mishra, who has claimed three hat-tricks in the IPL alone. In his 126 IPL matches, he has claimed 134 wickets at an average of 24.33. He has three four-wicket hauls and one five-wicket haul to his name, with career-best figures of 5/17.

He brought up his first hat-trick playing for the Delhi Daredevils in the very first season against the now defunct Deccan Chargers. Mishra’s second hat-trick came for the Deccan Chargers against the Kings XI Punjab in 2011. The third and record hat-trick came for Mishra came against the Pune Warriors India while representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013. It has truly been a dream IPL career for the Delhiite!

In the season of 2018 there are loads of talent in the dugouts but to achieve such feat who of them get to trade such unique path, it is simply a difficult call. But eyes will be Bangalore boy Chahal along with Hyderabad magician Rashid Khan for their magnificent arms.

3. Chennai Super Kings – Consistency at its best;

Image result for csk ipl

The Men in Yellow has always been the most consistent side in the IPL history. They have played a total of 132 games in the IPL over eight seasons, winning 79 of those. They boast of a staggering winning percentage of 59.84.

They have reached the knockout stages in all the eight seasons they have played in so far (2008-2015). Expectedly, no other franchise has accomplished this astonishing feat. The Super Kings have reached the final on six occasions, another terrific record for the IPL side.

MS Dhoni’s men clinched the title twice, on back-to-back occasions in 2010 and 2011. He not only became the first ever Indian skipper to lift the trophy, but also the first and only captain to defend it. They have lost four times in the finals (2008,2012,2013,2015). They lost in the semi-finals(playoffs) twice, in 2009 and 2014. Dhoni also holds the record for the being longest-serving skipper of an IPL side. He led CSK in eight seasons so far.

It is simply unbreakable but there is always scope to surplus the record but that has to be made by the CSK only that too with the help of MS Dhoni.

2. Aaron Finch- representative of seven colored jerseys;

Image result for aaron finch ipl

The Australian Batsman, Aaron Finch has done something unique in the tournament’s history. This lad has become the first player to have played for seven different franchises.

Finch started his IPL journey with the Rajasthan Royals in 2010. He subsequently moved to Delhi Daredevils and played the 2011 and 2012 season for them. The hard-hitting batsman then represented the Pune Warriors India in the 2013 IPL, before moving on to the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2014. He donned the Mumbai Indians jersey in the IPL 2015, before being bought by the now-defunct Gujarat Lions for the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

In the 2018 Auctions, he was bought by the Kings XI Punjab franchise, thereby becoming the first player to play for seven different franchises. The Indian wicket-keeper batsman, Parthiv Patel, has also played for several franchises. He has represented six franchises during the first decade of the IPL. Hence now the eyes will be on Parthiv to see whether he could be the next to feature such sort of records under his name.

1. Virat Kohli- 4 centuries in a season;

Related image

When it comes to cricket there will always be a name Virat Kohli. In IPL 2016, he showed us what he is capable of. It was all about one man, Virat Kohli in that season. Everything was right for him except the finals where he fell behind a little to get over the final victory.

He had a stellar season with the bat for the Bangalore-based club. He amassed a record 973 runs in 16 innings in the season at an average of 81.08 and a strike-rate of 152.03. No other player had made more than 733 runs in a season before IPL 2016. He added seven half-centuries and four centuries to his name in that edition of the tournament and notched up his highest IPL score of 113. The right-handed batsman was in the form of his lifetime and was just unstoppable in then.

The RCB skipper scored a massive chunk of boundaries in the season, with 83 fours and 38 sixes. Scoring a century in the IPL is a daunting task, but this man got four to his name in a single season! so to see someone making it to 5 in a season we must wait till Kohli’s wish because he is the only one who can break his own records.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here