Shane Watson probably riding on his last IPL stint this year ended it with a remarkable style. The Australian clobbered an unbeaten 117 off just 57 balls to power Chennai Super Kings to an eight-wicket win over SunRisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2018 final at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday night. CSK with their third IPL title became the first side to make a comeback after two years of the ban. I guess that is what CSK and MSD stand for. They literally got on the nerves of SRH very easily. And we must not forget that is the team that finished top of the standings after the league stage. The Australian all-rounder might have had a tough time initially but very soon he upped the ante after the powerplay. Captain Kane Williamson (47) and Yusuf Pathan (45 not out) somehow tried their best to help SRH post a competitive 178 for six but it turned out to be no match for CSK as the MS Dhoni-led team chased it down with nine balls to spare.

Image result for shane watson ipl 2018
NDTV Sports

Watson from CSK dugout hit 11 fours and eight sixes during his unbeaten knock but initially, things were not such a cakewalk as SRH pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar kept him wrapped up for much of the powerplay.

But the over of Sandeep Sharma kind of platformed the turf for Watson as with a couple of big hits off his bowling Watson got himself going and the rest is already on its process of getting history.

CSK initially had engulfed into a blow with South African batsman Faf du Plessis falling in the fourth over with the score on 16 which was somehow picturing the dominance over CSK by SRH. But with the advent of Raina, the show started to roll in the favor of CSK.

Watson-Raina duo got together and unleashed a dismantling show against the SRH bowling that too in a ruthless fashion. The duo turned out to be lethal as they had built up a match-winning 117-run stand for the second wicket with SRH bowlers helpless in front of the CSK pair’s onslaught.

Today’s whirlwind ton at the Wankhede turned out to be very special for Watson as he became the second player after Wriddhiman Saha to score a century in an IPL final. While Saha achieved the feat against Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL final in 2014 playing for KXIP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here